Nesbitt Memorial Library

Loading palette preview

Your Library Card

Getting a card, renewing materials, placing holds, etc.

Who can get a card

Any person who is more than six years old can become a patron of the Nesbitt Memorial Library; that is, they can be issued a library card. Persons who are less than eighteen years old may not obtain a library card unless their parent or legal guardian assumes responsibility for them.

Persons who can demonstrate that they are bona fide residents of Texas may obtain a library card at no charge. Other persons may obtain a library card by paying a one-time only, non-refundable fee of $10.

How to Get Your Card

Bring one form of identification to show proof of residency within the state of Texas which includes a photo ID.

Borrowing Limits

  •  Most books, audiobooks, and CDs may be checked out for two weeks.

  •  Videocassettes, DVDs, and certain magazines, may be checked out for one week
  • Audio and video equipment may be checked out for one day.

  • Books and audiobooks may be renewed for up to two additional two-week periods. Renewals may be made by telephone.

  • Special-reserve books, videocassettes, DVDs, magazines, CDs, art reproductions, and audio and video equipment may not be renewed.

 

Placing Holds

Holds can be placed in person that the library or over the phone.

Renewing Your Borrowed Items

Renews can be made over the phone.

Library Fines

Certain books are designated as children’s books. Overdue children’s books are fined at ten cents ($.10) per item per overdue day, up to a maximum of three dollars ($3.00) per item.
All other overdue books, audiobooks, CDs, videocassettes, DVDs, magazines, and art reproductions are fined at twenty-five cents ($.25) per item per overdue day, up to a maximum of five dollars ($5.00) per item. Overdue audio and video equipment is fined at one dollar ($1.00) per item per overdue day, up to a maximum of twenty dollars ($20.00) per item.
Patrons who return audiobooks, CDs, video cassettes, or DVDs in the book drop will be assessed a fine of one dollar ($1.00) per item in addition to any overdue fines, and be held financially responsible for any and all damage to the items.